top of page

FKA Twigs

By Mica Rae

FKA Twigs. God damn I feel I have been missing out on some huge talent from this electronic R&B princess.

Upon first listen I felt immediate regret I hadn’t listened before but by god I’m glad I discovered when I did – the combination of smooth electronics and focused vocals is a dream. FKA Twigs’ 2014 album LP1 which bagged her a Mercury Prize nomination ties 10 tracks elegantly composed. Whilst not varying hugely from each other, each track is laced with style especially my personal favourite ‘Pendulum’ which maintains an electronically charged beat throughout whilst drawing focus to the gorgeous R&B-esque vocals.

Alongside ‘Pendulum’ FKA Twigs captivates listeners further with the more popular track ‘Two Weeks’ – first released as an EP this track sets the tone for Twigs’ ongoing vibe. Without making direct comparisons, which I hate doing, I feel I can locate similarities to Glass Animals first album ‘Zaba’ as well as slight pinches of The XX in relation to the electronic beat.

Not only is FKA Twigs an incredible musician she also has roots within dance and performance eloquently staged within her live performances – Glastonbury 2015 serves audiences a taste of her capabilities, give it a watch. As an artist this woman’s talents are seemingly limitless; not only a musician but a performer.

This is the kind of music I would listen to whilst in the bath. Go bathe, go listen. 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page